The North West Cultural Education Awards 2017

Join us on 28th April, as Curious Minds host the region’s first North West Cultural Education Awards, and see what curious things can happen…

The event will be a high profile prestigious celebration, bringing together teachers, cultural organisations, artists and influencers from across the North West, to celebrate their involvement in the Cultural Educational Challenge and recognise those working in the most creative and innovative ways. The afternoon will include an Awards Ceremony, which will shine a light on best practice and those individuals who have gone above and beyond in their work to bring the benefits of great arts and culture to the region's children and young people. There will also be a creative space – ‘Wonderland’ – that will showcase the region’s rich and diverse cultural offer for schools.
  • Date: Friday 28th April 2017
  • Venue: The Guild Hall, Lancaster Road, Preston, PR1 1HR
  • Registration and Wonderland open from 12:00pm
  • The North West Cultural Education Awards 2017 from 2:00 - 4:00pm
If you have any questions or queries regarding the event, please do not hesitate to get in touch via email or calling our Events Team on 01772 336639.

Latest: The shortlist has been announced!

We are delighted to publish the shortlist of award category finalists below. There has been a fantastic response to the awards in this inaugural year, with a high number of quality nominations received across all categories. Many congratulations to everyone that received a nomination and to the finalists. Overall, winners will be announced on the day.

Schools and Cultural Education Categories

The Arts Council England Award for Innovation & Leadership in Cultural Education
- Avril Spencer, Seascale School
- Pauline Robertson, Victoria Infant and Nursery School
- Alex Bradley, Pikes Lane
- Karen Fay, Fallibroome Academy
- Jo Cassidy, Park Community Academy
- Stepping Stones PRU
Cultural Education Individual Leader Award
- Avril Spencer, Seascale School
- Louise Farrington, Bank View High School
- Rebecca Stubbs, Sir William Stanier School
- Pauline Robertson, Victoria Junior School, Workington
- Dave Williams, Deepoint Primary School
- Sam Kidd, Northside Primary School

Museum Partnership Award
- St. Augustine of Canterbury Catholic High School and World of Glass
- Heritage Learning Lancashire
- Blackburn Museum and Blackburn College
- The Wirral Museums Service
- St. Patrick's School, Workington
- Holly Lodge School, YPAS and Sarah Marsh (a freelance Tate Artist)
ArtsPartnership Award
- The Dukes and Lancaster University
- Stone Soup and Poplar Street School
- The Octagon and Bolton College
- Kirkby Gallery and Kirkby Collaborative of Schools
- Ludus Dance and Dowdales School
- Mid Pennine Arts, Taywood Nursery School, Woodfield Nursery School and Stoneyholme Nursery School

Inclusive Partnership Award
- Louise Farrington and Sarah Spoor, Champions Project
- David Milward, The Everyman
- Jennifer Cleary, MIF
- Loyne Specialist School and More Music
- Venture Arts
- Rebecca Ross-Williams, Everyman and Playhouse Theatre
Library Partnership Award
- Bolton Museum & Library Service and Ladywood School
- Bolton SLS, Blackrod Library and Blackrod Church School

Arts Award Categories

Arts Award: Personal Achievement Award
- Courtney Johnson, Eden Rivers Trust
- Peter Wood, Peshkar
- Leighton Strickland, The Lowry
- Hannah Hodgson, Dove Cottage Young Poets - Wordsworth Trust
- Leah Marie Erskine, HOME
- Keeley Baughan, More Music
Inspirational Arts Award Adviser
- Rachel Parsons, More Music
- Sarah Jane Lockwood, Blackpool Grand
- Laura Veevers, Burnley Youth Theatre
- Julia Swift, Range High School
- Laura Shepherd, Queen Elizabeth School
- Kim Macdonough

Arts Award: Big Impact Award
- Burnley Youth Theatre
- Girlguiding North West England
- The Lowry
- Resonate
- Elms Bank Specialist Arts College
- Cumbria Museum Consortium
Arts Award: New Setting Award
- Blackburn Museum and Action Factory
- 5th Lancaster Guides
- St. Helens Libraries
- The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum
- Blue Moose Dance Company

Arts Award: Young Achiever
- Daniel Simm
- Olorire (Grace) Ainenehi and Motunrayo (Mary) Ainenehi

Arts Award: Innovative Portfolio
- Heidi Sophia Holmes: Cardinal Heenan RC High School
- Isabel Hatherell: 1st west Bradford guides
- Travis Taylor: Queen Elizabeth School, Kirby Lonsdale
Arts Award: Gold and Beyond
- Shortlist TBC

Employment Categories

Most Inspiring Creative Apprentice or Intern
- Joe Clegg, Brighter Sound
- Alisha Rae, Action Transport Theatre
- Oliver Daley, Burnley Youth Theatre
- Elly Langlois, In Situ
- Freya, Global Grooves
- Matt Robinson, Burnley Mechanics 
Outstanding Creative Employer
- The Lowry 
- Burnley Youth Theatre 
- Global Grooves 
- In situ
- More Music 
- Mid Pennine Arts 
The Comino Creative Career Champion Award
- The Dukes
- The Everyman
- Ludus Dance
- Royal Exchange Theatre
- Burnley Youth Theatre
- Ambrose Barlow School